Publishing takes a snapshot of your plan at a specific moment. It’s great for sharing, keeping the team aligned, or using as a baseline to compare progress.
Creating a publication routine lets you set recurring deadlines for task updates, helping keep the whole project team aligned and on track.
Setup a Publishing Routine:
Click your Project Title in the top left and select Publishing
Click the settings icon in the top right
Configure the Publishing Routine by setting a Lookahead Period, Publication Frequency, and Publication Requirements
Before publishing, check that your team has updated their part of the plan and that there are no outstanding issues. When you're ready, just hit ‘Publish’, you can do this anytime, even if some team members haven’t marked their work as ready.
Check the Plan:
Click your Project Title in the top left and select Publishing
Click into the Next Scheduled Publication
Check the user table to see if the team have readied/reviewed their plan, if they have any Clashes, Overdue Blockers or Missing Data
See also:
Once you're happy with the plan, Publishing takes a snapshot of it at that exact moment in time. Published Versions are shared with everyone on the project and stored as a historical record - capturing how the plan looked, week by week.
How to Publish the Plan:
Click your Project Title in the top left and select Publishing
Click into the next scheduled publication
Select Publish in the top right
During the Publishing process, Automations let you optionally set historic tasks to ‘Done’, locking them in place or mark Tasks within a set window as ‘Promised’. A Promised Line will appear on the Gantt to show where commitments end, helping track delays and their impacts.
To Mark Historic Tasks as Done:
Open your upcoming Published Version and click
Toggle Set Historic Tasks to Done
To set a Promised Period:
Open your upcoming Published Version and click
Toggle Promise Tasks
Pick a date for the Promised Period to end
To send a notification:
Open your upcoming Published Version and click
Toggle Send Notification
See also:
Compare the live plan with any Published Version to see how things have moved. Spot where Tasks have slipped or improved as the plan progresses.
Click at the top off the Gantt
To compare the Live Plan to a previous week, select Baseline
This will show a list of all Published Versions on the Project
Select any option to see how how your current plan compares to your Baseline
Click at the top off the Gantt
Toggle Baseline
You can open any historical Published Version to view the full plan exactly as it was at the time of publish. It’s fully interactive so you can use filters, open Task Details, view the Map - just like the live plan. The only difference is that everything is read-only, like an interactive PDF.
Open a Published Version:
Click your Project Title in the top left and select Publishing
Locate the list of all Published Versions in your Project
Hover over an existing published version and click ...
See also:
Published Versions can be Shared to Web to allow anyone (including non-Aphex users) to view the plan.
Enable sharing:
Click your Project Title in the top left and select Publishing
Locate the list of all Published Versions in your Project
Hover over an existing published version and click ...
Select when you're ready to create the weekly version
View VersionShare to WebOptionally toggle Include Baselines or Include Progress Updates
Copy the URL and share with anyone
Publication Frequency
Projects set a recurring target for when users should create a new Published Version.
Time
The time of the next Publication deadline.
Timezone
The timezone for the project
Frequency
A recurring target for when users should create a new Published Version.
Publication Requirements
Set specific fields which are required for publishing. As users update their plans these will flag as missing data if fields are left incomplete.
Set Historic Tasks to Done
All Tasks prior to the Publication Date (Today) will have their Status set to ‘Done’. This will lock Progress Updates and Start & End Dates. Task Status can be changed at any time.
Send Notification
All users added to the Project Users list will receive an email with a link to the most recent Published Version
Documents
Comments
Saved Column Configs
Blocker Summary Panel
Milestone Summary Panel
Board View
List View
Baselines
Allow guests to see all historic baselines from previous versions and imports
Progress Updates
Allow guests to see all Progress Updates (delays & improvements) recorded on tasks