If you're looking to create a Published Version to share your plan (internally or externally) then this guide is for you.
We'll cover publishing the plan, sharing a Published Version to Web, locating and sharing the unique URL, and how to control what information is accessible.
Things to know before you start:
Only Project Admins can make changes to share preferences
Only Project Admins can create Published Versions
Publishing creates a read-only version of the plan (similar to an interactive PDF). Most teams create a new Published Version every week. Each Version acts as a record of what the plan was at a given point in time, and can be shared or used as a baseline comparison.
Step 1 : When to Publish
Teams usually create a new Published Version just after their weekly deadline has passed but a new version can be created at any time.
Publishing will not happen automatically, each new Version will be Published by an Admin on your team.
The details of your Next Scheduled Publication can be viewed from the Publishing page, which you can access by clicking your Project's name from the Gantt.
Open the Next Scheduled Publication to get an overview of the state of everyone's work. Here, you can see who has and who is yet to mark their Plans as Ready, as well as which users own work with unresolved issues (Clashes or Missing Fields).
The Next Scheduled Publication Date is visible for all Users on the Project by glancing at the top-right of the Gantt.
Step 2 : Publishing Your Plan
When the quality of the Project meets your standards and you’re ready to create a Publication:
Open the Next Scheduled Publication
Hit Publish Plan
Once the new version has been created, an automatic email will be sent to all Project Users with a link to view it.
Viewing Published Versions
You can open and control access to Published Versions from the Publishing page, which you can access by clicking your Project's name.
On a Previous Publication, click '...' to open the overflow menu:
Click View Version to open your Published Version in a new window
Sharing your Plan
All Published Versions can be shared with people outside of the Aphex Project. Your recipient does not need to have an Aphex account in order to view a Shared Plan.
Here's how to enable public sharing:
Open the Publishing Page
Locate the version you want to share
Click the '...' button at the end of the row
Toggle on Share to Web to generate a shareable link
You can choose whether to include access to Baselines and Status Data in the shareable link
Copy the sharable link by clicking the copy icon to the right of the link
Send the link to your recipient
Admins can revoke public access at any time by disabling Share to Web